Here I go….again!

16 Jan

Okay, so today begins my foray into the world of writing.  I have been procrastinating for way too long and I know there’s a creative writer hidden deep in the recesses of my brain…somewhere.  I think I just put way too much pressure on myself to write something “perfect” and a good friend told me recently that I just needed to start writing consistently.  So my goal right now is try write 500 words per day no matter if it’s gibberish or not! 

I tend to be the kind of person who gets really excited at the beginning of a new venture and then I sort of fall off after awhile and move on to something else.  I’m not really sure what causes that but it’s really beginning to bother me.  I just want to finish something meaningful in my life and something that can help inspire other to go after their dreams.  You see, one of my dreams is to become a published writer and I certainly will never get there if don’t start writing!

There are many subjects that have come to mind as possible book material.  Here are a few:  my daughter with special needs, my grandparents, a children’s book about a squirrel (or maybe bunny rabbit).  My thoughts at this point are to try to write a memoir about my grandparents to capture the memories I have and the life lessons they instilled in me.  I did make a feeble start to that project and have a couple of stories started but never did pick that back up so I will probably be bringing those in here in the near future and expanding on them.

I see the word counter on my document is currently at 286 and I’m thinking to myself, “what in the world am I going to write about to get to 500?”.  I guess my hope for today’s exercise is just to see what 500 words looks like on paper; however, I must admit that I’m feeling the creative juices starting to flow in my brain just by the simple act of typing out my thoughts.  I know they may not be very exciting but they’re my thoughts just the same! 

Incidentally, the reason I’m even writing at all is because one of our machines broke down at work and we are hardly able to do anything; so rather than surf the net or waste my brain on Facebook, I decided now is a good time to start writing.  My philosophy is to seize the opportunity when it’s sitting right in front of your face!  I suppose I could be taking an online class (yawn) but I’m pretty sure I would end up falling asleep at my desk and at least it looks like I’m doing something productive!

I’m on the downhill slide to 500 words and feeling fairly good about my first attempt at writing.  Now the key will be to keep up with it consistently no matter what I feel like.  I think an inspirational quote would be the perfect way to end today’s efforts.  After a short search on the internet, I decided to go with:

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer.  Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” –Harriet Tubman. 

Until next time,

Cheryl

P.S.: My word count was 561 – what an overachiever I am!

One Response to “Here I go….again!”

  1. Miranda January 18, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I love it! There are so many others out there that feel the same way you do. As long as you keep trying that’s all that matters. I think that your goal of 500 words a day is a good one but my suggestion to you is to make that your weekly goal instead. I have a tendency to have an all or nothing attitude myself but find I get down on myself when I “fail”. I need to work on making smaller more manageable goals because any goal small or large feels amazing when achieved! Here I found something for you http://creativewritingprompts.com/…maybe it can help inspire some random words. Great start Cheryl! I look forward to reading more next week… 😉

Leave a Reply

